– or –
Please login or register to participate.
rlenskens Oct 16, 2019 11:43 AM
I am studying the contents of the dataset on https://www.eea.europa.eu/data-and-maps/data/natura-1 about Natura 2000 areas. The areas are classified from A to K and I would like to know what these classifications mean.
Replies (2)
EEA Oct 31, 2019 05:55 PM

Thank you for contacting the European Environment Agency (EEA).

Your enquiry has been forwarded to our relevant expert and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Thank you for your patience.

With kind regards,
EEA Enquiry Service
EEA Nov 04, 2019 02:35 PM
Dear R. Lenskens,

Thank you for your patience.

Since 2015, there is only three site types in Natura 2000: A, B and C. Natura 2000 is based on the 1979 Birds Directive (Special Protection Areas, SPAs) and the 1992 Habitats Directive (Sites of Community Importance, SCIs, and Special Areas of Conservation, SACs).

The key to understand the site types are as follows:
A: SPAs (Special Protection Areas - sites designated under the Birds Directive);
B: SCIs and SACs (Sites of Community Importance and Special Areas of Conservation - sites designated under the Habitats Directive);
C: where SPAs and SCIs/SACs boundaries are identical (sites designated under both directives).

The most recent version of the dataset can be downloaded from

The official and very detailed information for each field can be found in the reporting format for Natura 2000, the so-called Standard Data Form. The explanation of the sitetype is in section 1.1:
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/[…]/ .

We hope that this may be useful for you.

With kind regards,
EEA Enquiry Service